Reci-Guide: Honey-Balsamic Chicken with Lemon Orzo and Veggies

We’re moving out of crock pot season (let’s be real, I’ll be using my crock pot all summer though), and I wanted to make something simple and springy for lunch this week. After clicking around a bit, I found this recipe. I love orzo, but it’s one of those foods I just always forget about until it hits me over the head and says, “Use me! I’m awesome!” After I’d found the recipe inspiration, I figured out what other ingredients I had on hand and came up with this bad boy.

You’ll need:

  • Asparagus
  • Spinach
  • Red peppers
  • Orzo
  • Lemon juice
  • Chicken
  • Honey
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Water
  • Garlic
  • Salt and pepper
  • White wine (optional)
  • Chicken stock/bullion (optional)
  • Feta cheese (optional)
  1. Prepare your orzo according to package directions. I like to add some chicken stock or bullion to the water, and some white wine as well, just to give the orzo a richer flavor.
  2. Cut your veggies and throw them in a pot with a little bit of water or white wine. Cover and steam on low heat until they reach your desired tenderness.
  3. Cut your chicken and put it into a pan with a shake or two of olive oil. Add in a couple generous squirts of honey (or heaping teaspoons if you don’t have a honey bear), three or four good shakes of the balsamic, and garlic to taste. Stir on occasion until chicken is cooked through. If you need more liquid, you can add water, white wine, or chicken stock.
  4. Once everything has cooked, sprinkle lemon juice to taste over the orzo, then toss everything together. Add a little salt and pepper, and sprinkle some feta on top if you like it.

This stuff is great – I’ve been making a big batch of it and taking leftovers for lunch a few times a week. It’s good hot or cold, and for those out there who don’t eat meat, it’s filling even without the chicken.

 

Leave a comment